2014 Season

Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 4


Friday 27 June 2014 at 8:00pm


Ives Orchestral Set No.2
Beethoven Piano Concerto No.4
Berlioz Symphonie fantastique

Sir Andrew Davis conductor
Emanuel Ax piano
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus

This program features Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No.4, a work tailor-made for the poetic and luminous playing of Emanuel Ax. In its extravagant story of a spurned lover’s imagined revenge and its vivid changes of mood, Berlioz’ Symphonie fantastique is one of the key signposts of the Romantic imagination.

Pre-concert talk at 7pm
Callum Moncrieff will present a talk on the artists and works featured in the program.

2 hours with 20 minute interval.

Back to What's On