Appalachian Spring


Please note that tickets are now only available through the Arts Centre, Melbourne.

Thursday June 6
Book Tickets

Friday June 7
Book Tickets

Copland Appalachian Spring: Suite (original version)
Copland Eight Poems of Emily Dickinson
Stanhope Piccolo Concerto* WORLD PREMIERE
Stravinsky The Firebird: Suite (1919)

Benjamin Northey Conductor
Emma Matthews Soprano
Andrew Macleod Piccolo

Two landmark scores from the world of ballet frame this program. Appalachian Spring defines the American spirit in music, and includes Copland’s sublime setting of the Shaker theme Simple Gifts, while Stravinsky’s suite from The Firebird is a magic carpet of orchestral colour.

*Commissioned by Symphony Services International on behalf of the Melbourne, Adelaide and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras.

Pre-concert talk

Composer Paul Stanhope discusses his new composition receiving its world premiere performance this evening. Hosted by Alastair McKean.

Back to What's On