Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Presents


Saturday 5 May 2012 at 8:00pm

Melbourne Recital Centre, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall


eighth blackbird
Timothy Weiss conductor
Members of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Reich Music for 18 Musicians

Metropolis concludes with American seascapes. John Luther Adams’ orchestral work Dark Waves summons the magnificent, otherworldly beauty of a vast, rolling sea at night. After this stunning nocturne, Steve Reich opens the curtains onto a vivid, bright ocean vista in his epic, joyous masterpiece Music for 18 Musicians. Layers of glittering pianos and percussion ebb and flow, humming with fresh energy.

This concert will also include a new work commissioned as part of the MSO’s Cybec 21st Century Australian Composers Program. This concert will be preceded by a free performance featuring eighth blackbird in Elisabeth Murdoch Hall to celebrate the centenary of John Cage.

Event Duration: 2hrs

Back to What's On