Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Presents

Mahler with Emma Matthews

Thursday 14 June 2012 at 8:00pm

Melbourne Town Hall

Friday 15 June 2012 at 8:00pm

Melbourne Town Hall


Benjamin Northey conductor
Julian Rachlin violin
Emma Matthews soprano

Shostakovich Violin Concerto No.1
Mahler Symphony No.4

In his Fourth Symphony, Mahler creates a magical evocation of the spirit of childhood, ending with a heartfelt hymn to sacred innocence. Mahler’s vision of heaven will beam its radiance with the glowing voice of Australian soprano Emma Matthews. Adding to this rich program, Julian Rachlin, one of today’s classical mega-stars, brings his energy and passion to the First Violin Concerto of Shostakovich.

Event Duration: 2hrs

Back to What's On