Duruflé Requiem

Proudly Presented by Myer

Thursday 15 November 2012 at 8:00pm

Friday 16 November 2012 at 8:00pm

Saturday 17 November 2012 at 8:00pm


Tadaaki Otaka conductor
Garrick Ohlsson piano
Deborah Humble mezzo-soprano
José Carbó baritone
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus

Brahms Piano Concerto No.1
Duruflé Requiem

The Requiem by French composer Maurice Duruflé is a work of delicate and moving beauty, and this performance features two of the most eloquent of Australia’s fine singers, to help draw you into the work’s lush, meditative world. The program begins with Brahms’ towering First Piano Concerto, in which orchestra and soloist unite to create one of the grand statements of the Romantic spirit.

Event Duration: 2hrs

Free Pre-Concert Event

Thursday 15 November at 7pm
Saturday 17 November at 7pm
Stalls Foyer, Hamer Hall

This pre-concert event will feature four members of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus in a panel discussion which will take you behind the scenes at the MSO Chorus, providing insight into the preparation and performance of the Duruflé Requiem.

Back to What's On