Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Presents

Coming Together

Wednesday 2 May 2012 at 8:00pm

Melbourne Recital Centre, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall


eighth blackbird
Members of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra

Hartke Meanwhile
Adams Shaker Loops
Reich Double Sextet
Glass Music in Similar MotionAUSTRALIAN PREMIERE

Witness the organic growth of an unconducted ‘super ensemble.’ The six members of eighth blackbird throw down the gauntlet, flinging themselves into Derek Bermel’s wild Balkan romp, Tied Shifts. MSO players join the party for John Adams’ Shaker Loops, a vision of dancing Shakers, and Steve Reich’s funky, Pulitzer Prize-winning Double Sextet, a work commissioned by eighth blackbird. Finally, the stage is stuffed with musicians for a mesmerising and virtuosic early work by Philip Glass, Music in Similar Motion.

Event Duration: 2hrs

Back to What's On