Brahms Quintet

Tuesday 27 November 2012 at 7:30pm

Melbourne Recital Centre, Elisabeth Murdoch Hall


Garrick Ohlsson piano
Wilma Smith, Matthew Tomkins violin
Christopher Cartlidge viola
David Berlin cello

Brahms Two Rhapsodies
Brahms Variations and Fugue on a Theme of Handel
Brahms Piano Quintet

Brahms’ piano music spans his entire creative life. In the mighty Variations and Fugue of 1861, he takes a theme from a Handel keyboard suite and fashions from it a powerful piano panorama. The Two Rhapsodies, which he created nearly 20 years later, are among his most lyrical works for the instrument, while the masterful Quintet, a work which took Brahms many years to complete, is a landmark in the history of chamber music – bold, passionate and written on a grand scale.

Event Duration: 2hrs

Back to What's On