Celebrate Christmas with the MSO

Posted by on


It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

From the MSO’s annual Messiah concert to this year’s special Christmas concert featuring The Idea of North, it really is a time for celebrating music.

We love sharing our music with you and the 2017 season ahead of us has something for everyone.

Purchase any 2017 subscription before 23 December and you will receive a copy of the MSO’s latest album release A Symphonic Christmas.

We hope this album becomes part of your Christmas tradition. Perhaps it will become part of the MSO’s Christmas playlist.

Season’s greetings!

Buy Subscription

A Symphonic Christmas

A Symphonic Christmas

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra | Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Bramwell Tovey

Take the majesty of a symphony orchestra, add a 100-voice choir, stir in your favourite festive tunes and sprinkle over a large pinch of musical magic. The result? The very finest kind of Symphonic Christmas.

Recorded live at Hamer Hall, Arts Centre Melbourne, and featuring conductor, arranger and pianist Bramwell Tovey, this is a truly delightful album that captures the Christmas spirit with an incredible range of music – from a tear-jerking and intimate I’ll Be Home for Christmas (with violin and piano), to the rousing chorus in God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen – with an expected twist!

Track List

1. Sleigh Ride (Anderson)
2. The Virgin Mary Had a Baby Boy
3. Personent Hodie
4. In the Bleak Mid-Winter
5. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen
6. I’ll Be Home for Christmas
7. The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire)
8. Silent Night
9. Sleigh Ride (Delius)
10. Mary’s Boy Child
11. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel
12. The Night Before Christmas
13. Snow Scene and Waltz of the Snowflakes from The Nutcracker
14. Jingle Bells

Melbourne Symphony Orchestra Chorus
Melbourne Symphony Orchestra
Bramwell Tovey conductor & piano

Buy Online