The MSO will celebrate the rising stars of percussion in Australia and New Zealand with its annual Snare Drum Award.

Posted on


The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra will celebrate the rising stars of percussion in Australia and New Zealand this week when it presents the annual MSO Snare Drum Award.

Twelve undergraduate tertiary percussion students have been selected to take part in the exclusive opportunity which will see the winner receive a one-year mentorship with the MSO to further develop their skills.

Paul Wookey (Vic), Tim Cox (Vic), Louis Sharpe (Vic), Caleb Colledge (Qld), Jamee Seeto (Qld), Lachlan Hawkins (Qld), Tsoof Baras (Qld), Zak Soenario (Qld), Jack de la Lande (SA), Samuel Butler (SA), Thomas von Einem (NSW) and Sam Rich (New Zealand) will each perform a live audition in front of a panel of judges with four finalists being selected to take part in a free concert on Wednesday 14 August at 6:30pm in the Iwaki Auditorium, ABC Southbank Centre.

The expert panel will include, Robert Cossom (MSO Percussion), Robert Clarke (MSO Percussion), Gary France (Associate Professor of Percussion at Australia National University) and Gordon Hughes (Managing Director, Rhythmscape Publishers).

Established by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra percussionist Robert Cossom in 2004, the MSO Snare Drum Award is part of the Orchestra’s Young Artist Development Program and is designed to encourage the pursuit of excellence in snare drum performance.

In addition to the one-year mentorship, the winner will receive a Mastro concert snare drum and case, Just Percussion mallet pack, MIT Percussion cymbal stand and table base and a bitsandpieces mallet and accessory table.

The MSO Snare Drum Award is generously supported by Robert Cossom, Lyn, Tim and Kris Edward, Maestro Snare Drums, MIT Percussion, bitsandpieces, Just Percussion, Evans Drumheads, Zildjian and Rhythmscape Publishing Australia.

Past winners include; Mathew Levy (2012, NSW) Max Ziliotto (2011, SA), Andrew Penrose (2010, SA) and Brent Miller (2009, Vic).