Honouring Alan Goldberg

Posted on


The MSO’s annual black-tie Fundraising dinner, The Symphony Banquet, had a very special flavour this year, as Melbourne’s community paid tribute to the extraordinary contribution made to the Orchestra by The Honourable Alan Goldberg AO, QC.
Held on August 8 in the elegant setting of the Melbourne Room Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, the evening combined beautiful food, wine and extraordinary music from our musicians, with many heartfelt dedications, including from His Excellency, the Honourable Alex Chernov, Governor of Victoria and MSO Chairman Harold Mitchell AC.

“Alan has done extraordinary work for the Orchestra as a board member, as a financial supporter, as a commissioner of new music (think of Ross Edwards’ Clarinet Concerto, written for our own David Thomas), and as a tireless advocate for the Orchestra over many, many years’’.

MSO Chairman, Harold Mitchell AC

In paying respect to Alan and his tireless dedication to the MSO, we focused our fundraising efforts on his passion for broadening the Orchestra’s impact in the community. Generous support for this cause has enabled the MSO to create the Alan Goldberg Community Fund to enhance broad-based community access to our performances and to the Education and Outreach program.

At the Symphony Banquet, Alan was formally presented with Life Membership of the Orchestra, in recognition of his extraordinary contribution to the community and the MSO.

The MSO gratefully acknowledges the generous donors to the Alan Goldberg Community Fund:

Dr Bronte Adams
Marc Besen AO & Eva Besen AO
Susie and Harvey Brown
Beth Brown & Tom Bruce AM
In memory of my husband Noel Castan
The Cuming Bequest
Dr Helen M Ferguson
Susan Fry and Don Fry AO
Colin Golvan SC and Dr Deborah Golvan
Louis J Hamon OAM
Paula & Jack Hansky
The Hon Peter Heerey AM QC
Dr Anne Kennedy
Dr Henryk and Mrs Emma Kranz
Sylvia Lavelle
Peter Lovell
Glenda McNaught
Beth Z Charles and Ron Merkel
The Novy Family
Ken and Lin Ong
Marylou and Ray Orloff
Palace Cinemas
Ian and Jeannie Paterson
Lady Potter AC
Josephine Ridge
Mrs Margaret S Ross AM and Dr Ian Ross
Rae Rothfield
Geoffrey Rush
John and Megan Rynderman
Max and Jill Schultz
UAG Holdings
Mary Vallentine AO
David Whitrod
Lyn Williams AM