Marc and Eva Besen

Marc and Eva Besen

Marc and Eva Besen International Guest Chair Announced

Posted on


The MSO is proud to announce the Marc and Eva Besen International Guest Chair in recognition of a generous pledge by Marc Besen AO and Eva Besen AO, which will support appearances by internationally eminent conductors and performers to work with the MSO and Melbourne audiences in the seasons 2013, 2014 and 2015.

The new Chair was announced at a special reception with the Orchestra’s key supporters on Wednesday 14 November.

“Bringing great artists to Melbourne is a hallmark of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, from the era of Sir Thomas Beecham and Artur Schnabel up to the present day. Mr and Mrs Besen’s decision to get involved in this exciting aspect of our work will help us continue to present the finest artists of our time to MSO audiences,” said Managing Director André Gremillet. “The Orchestra is competing in an international marketplace for leading soloists and guest conductors, and the involvement of Mr and Mrs Besen will be of tremendous assistance to us.”

The 2013 Marc and Eva Besen International Guest Chair will be held by German violinist Christian Tetzlaff. Tetzlaff, whose international career now takes in more than 100 performances a year, is a welcome and regular visitor to Melbourne, always exciting audiences with the intensity and virtuosity of his playing. He appears in December 2013 to perform Mendelssohn’s Violin Concerto with Czech conductor Jakub Hrůša.

In responding to the announcement, Mr Besen commented: “We feel a deep commitment to the tradition of the MSO and we were delighted with its proposal that we be associated with bringing artists of Christian Tetzlaff’s stature here.”

With its return to performance in Hamer Hall, arguably the finest concert hall in Australasia, the MSO is uniquely placed to draw artists and audiences together in a passionate new experience of orchestral music, exploring symphonic works with outstanding guest artists. Private donor support is critical, and the MSO Artist Chair, together with the Patron program, offers a unique way for exceptional supporters to forge a deeper connection with the MSO. Current Chair Leadership, in recognition of outstanding support, includes the Harold Mitchell AC Concertmaster Chair and the Elisabeth Murdoch Principal Clarinet Chair, the Joy Selby Smith Orchestral Leadership Chair, Patricia Riordan Associate Conductor Chair, and the MSO Friends Chair.

Find out more about giving support to the MSO at our Support Us page or call a member of the MSO Development team on (03) 9626 1111.