Snare Drum Award.jpg

Snare Drum Award

Established by Melbourne Symphony Orchestra percussionist Robert Cossom in 2004, the MSO Snare Drum Award is designed to encourage the pursuit of excellence in snare drum performance in Australia and New Zealand.

Open to undergraduate tertiary students from Australia and New Zealand, this award provides an exclusive opportunity for applicants to further develop audition and performance-based techniques in a professional environment.

The winner will receive percussion equipment and the opportunity to undertake a one-year mentorship with the MSO.

The Snare Drum Award will be held on Monday 4 June, 2018 at Iwaki Auditorium, ABC Southbank Centre.

Scroll down to see details of the required repertoire.

Apply now

MSO Snare Drum Award 2018 is proudly supported by Robert Cossom.

The test piece was commissioned by Lyn, Tim and Kris Edward and supported by Rhythmscape Publishing. The Snare Drum Award is also kindly supported by Zildjian, Evans and Just Percussion.

Required repertoire

Test piece
Pas de deux – Robert Cossom ^

Own choice pieces (one of the below)
Remembering Katrina – Darryl Pratt ^
Laura – John Arcaro and David Franzke ^
Episodes – Barry Quinn~

Technical study
Number 5 or 7 or 9 from 12 Studies for Snare Drum – Jacques Delecluse

Each applicant is also required to play some orchestral excerpts; these will be emailed out in due course once applications have been received.

^ Pieces available from Rhythmscape Publishing
~ Piece available from Just Percussion