MSO Wordmark

2018 Artistic Family

The Masters Series

Sir Andrew Davis CBE – Chief Conductor

In 2018, Grammy-nominated Sir Andrew Davis returns to Melbourne as Chief Conductor of the MSO for a fifth year. The charismatic Sir Andrew will continue the Mahler Cycle in 2018, and lead the orchestra through enchanting choral works’ including Berlioz’ L’Enfance du Christ, and Elgar’s The Dream of Gerontius, two pieces which shaped the trajectory of his career. Considered one of the greatest Wagner conductor of his time, Sir Andrew will also offer Melbourne audiences an unforgettable experience with a unique performance of Act 1 from Die Walküre; the second opera of Wagner’s famous Ring cycle.

The Masters Series

Benjamin Northey – Associate Conductor

Much loved star of the Melbourne Town Hall Series, Benjamin Northey has a progressive and diverse approach to repertoire, having collaborated with some of the world’s biggest artists, including Maxim Vengerov, Julian Rachlin and Australian star, Kate Miller-Heidke. Returning to the MSO again in 2018, Benjamin will continue to work with icons of the Australian music scene when they take to the stage at the MSO’s original home of Melbourne Town Hall, in a series of concerts The Australian referred to as “rippling with joyous energy and real passion for the classical repertoire.”

The Masters Series

Tianyi Lu – Cybec Assistant Conductor

Supported by The Cybec Foundation and MSO donors

Tianyi Lu is making a name for herself across the continents as Assistant Conductor of the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, a Dudamel Fellow with the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra and Principal Conductor of the St. Woolos Sinfonia in the UK. This international outset of her career includes collaborations with the Los Angeles Philharmonic, just recently including a programme with Dvořáks Symphony No.9, and also with the Hallé Orchestra, Dallas Opera Orchestra, Welsh National Youth Opera, Royal Welsh College of Music Symphony Orchestra, Bristol Metropolitan Orchestra and the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra Summer School.

The Masters Series

Hiroyuki Iwaki AO – Conductor Laureate

As the MSO’s longest serving conductor, Maestro Iwaki’s time in the role lasted for more than 20 years. He began his post as Chief Conductor in 1974, and in 1990 was appointed as the MSO’s first Conductor Laureate, honouring his contribution to the Orchestra’s development and international touring. His dedication and on stage energy earned him many accolades including the renaming of the ABC Southbank studio to the Iwaki Auditorium in 1995. In 1996, to commend his contribution to Australia-Japan relations, he was promoted to an Honorary Officer of the Order of Australia, an office he held until his death in 2006.

The Masters Series

Tan Dun – Artistic Ambassador

Maestro Tan’s connection with the MSO began in 2013 with a performance of Martial Arts Trilogy, and he has been closely associated with the MSO’s annual Chinese New Year concert since then. The appointment to Artistic Ambassador acknowledges the connection between Maestro Tan and the MSO, and celebrates his extraordinary contribution to classical music. Seamlessly weaving together Eastern and Western classical traditions, Tan Dun has again and again been proven as one of the truly compelling musical forces of this era.

The Masters Series

Carl Vine AO – Composer in Residence

Carl Vine is one of the world’s most respected contemporary composers, and has been Artistic Director of Musica Viva since 2000. As one of Australia’s foremost composers, he uses the colours and textures of the orchestra with exceptional skill to write large symphonic canvasses that are virtuosic, tuneful and exhilarating. Sir Andrew Davis is a great champion of Carl’s work and this year will conduct his First Symphony (Microsymphony), Concerto for Orchestra, and the world premiere of his Eighth Symphony, a work commissioned by the MSO

The Masters Series

Ade Vincent – Cybec Young Composer in Residence

Supported by The Cybec Foundation

Melbourne-based singer-songwriter Ade Vincent has received two commissions to write new works for the Orchestra as the MSO’s first Cybec Young Composer in Residence. He will be mentored during the composition process, with his pieces being workshopped by the orchestra in the months before their respective performances. The world premiere of Ade Vincent’s latest work will take place as part of the Metropolis Festival on 19 April, with a second composition being premiered in 2019.

The Masters Series

Anne-Sophie Mutter – 2018 Soloist in Residence

Supported by Marc and Eva Besen

Four-time Grammy Award-winning violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter makes her Melbourne debut in 2018 as the MSO’s Soloist in Residence. Performing Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, Anne-Sophie Mutter will take to the stage for the MSO’s Mid-Season Gala, and newly introduced MSO Mornings series.

The Masters Series

PLEXUS – Artist in Residence

Melbourne ensemble PLEXUS brings together the talents of three of Melbourne’s most vibrant and versatile musicians, including MSO Associate Principal Second Violin, Monica Curro (violin), MSO Associate Principal Clarinet, Philip Arkinstall (clarinet), and Stefan Cassomenos (piano). Collaborating with the MSO in 2018, the name PLEXUS reflects the ensemble’s devotion to supporting and engaging an ever-growing network of exceptional artists across a variety of disciplines.

Former Chief Conductors

Alberto Zelman (1906–1927)
Fritz Hart (1927–1932)
Fritz Hart, Bernard Heinze (1932–1937, joint chief conductors)
Sir Bernard Heinze (1937–1950)
Alceo Galliera (1950–1951)
Juan José Castro (1952–1953)
Walter Susskind (1953–1955)
Kurt Wöss (1956–1959)
Georges Tzipine (1960–1965)
Willem van Otterloo (1967–1970)
Fritz Rieger (1971–1972)
Hiroyuki Iwaki (AO) (1974–1997) Conductor Laureate
Markus Stenz (1998–2004)
Oleg Caetani (2005–2009)